It is no longer news that the Adobe Lightroom app deleted a large number of its user’s photographs. This is particular to the iPhone, iPod, and iPad users.
In a recent release from the Company, Adobe apologizes for this unintended action. They describe it as a mistake and not intentional.
This happened as a result of a bug in the recent update of the app. This bug permanently deletes photos dating far back as 3-5 years of its users.
Adobe’s representative explains this in a statement;
“We are aware that some customers who updated to Lightroom 5.4.0 on iPhone and iPad may be missing photos and presets that were not synced to the Lightroom cloud.
“A new version of Lightroom mobile (5.4.1) for iOS and iPadOS has now been released that prevents this issue from affecting additional customers.
“Installing version 5.4.1 will not restore missing photos or presets for customers affected by the problem introduced in 5.4.0.”
“We know that some customers have photos and presets that are not recoverable.
“We sincerely apologise to any of our customers who have been affected by this issue.”
The Lightroom app which is used for editing photos was recently upgraded by its parent company Adobe. Although the upgrade was intended to ensure better utilization of the app.
It didn’t turn out well as a bug affected the upgrade process and deleted photos of users from the app’s storage.
The sad thing about this is that the photos have been permanently deleted and have no means of recovery.
The good news is that the bug has now been fixed and new users don’t have to experience the same issue. However, this a loss for old users for the app. Andriod user’s cloud storage and backups of the app were also not affected by the bug.